Sweetiee Weds NRI (2017): Kudi Gujarat Di

I wasn’t originally going to cover this movie, due to the D-grade actors and dodgy plot line; but once I heard this song, I needed to rant. What makes this worse is that I am Gujarati, and this song is a big disappointment.

What the fuck is going on here? Firstly, this song is old. It was originally performed by Jasbir Jassi in 1998 in Punjabi. Now this already gets to me because, it has been a continuing trend in Bollywood for old songs to be reused.

I really liked this song in my childhood, it was a good song to get up and dance to. Now I’m not really sure.

And, any time I hear Gujarati in songs like this, it sounds very cheesy and fake. All they could muster is “kem chho” and “majama”, which are the only two phrases my non-Gujarati friends know.

As I was writing this up, I had to do some research, I found out that the lead actor debuted with the film Yaariyan (2014), Himansh Kohli. Remember that movie from the start of 2014 that is responsible for that Honey Singh song “Sunny Sunny“.

And the lead actress is Zoya Afroz. So we have a Muslim playing  a Gujarati, she better be Sindhi.

It doesn’t look like Sweetiee Weds NRI will get released in Australia.

See the full music video here:

Leave a Reply

